Thinking Out Loud #2

Another Thursday, and another bunch of random things to share!

Thinking-Out-Loud

  • Once a week I have been using the elliptical as cross-training. Don’t get me wrong- I find it really boring but it does have it’s benefits. Its nice that I can do other things while I am on it (I can’t read or play with my phone when I am running) and I have found settings that really work my glutes. I’ve been using a high incline and medium resistance, and go backwards for part of the time.

elliptical

This week I bought new Runner’s World!

  • My OCD comes out in random ways. When I am setting up for body pump, I need to be in the same spot (towards the front but not front row, off to the side, and able to see myself in the mirror) and I like my risers to match. I prefer all black, but if some of them need to be purple it can only be 2 and the purples have to both be on the top or bottom.

bodypump

riserssteps

  • This week I feel like I have eaten more “junk food” than usual- between teacher appreciation week (I’m not a teacher, but I work in a school) and attending a baby shower on Tuesday, there have been lots “treats”. I find that I start to feel kind of off when I eat that stuff, so I need to make an effort to get back on track. I find that it makes me more tired and I end up craving sweets more.

 

  • I have been loving the warmer weather lately, but it would nice if it wasn’t freezing in my school every day. I would love to start wearing spring clothes, but even when I do I end up with a sweatshirt or fleece on. Still, its been great running weather. The sunrises haven’t been too shabby either.

parksunrise

sunrisetues

  • I went back to yoga last night but crow was not happening. It was a hot class, which felt awesome after my freezing cold day at work! I sweat more than is probably normal, but it felt really good to get in another deep stretch.

9.29.13 1

(not from hot yoga this week- but it does make me excited for the summer yoga series at the harbor to start again!)

 Be sure to head over to Running With Spoons to check out some Thinking Out Loud posts!

What is your favorite form of cross training?

Are you OCD about anything?

Have you been having good running weather where you live?

