Easy Turkey Meatballs

It’s Friday night, which around here usually means carbo-loading for Saturday’s long run. However, with no upcoming races and no real training plan, there’s no pressure to do a real long run tomorrow. Regardless, it has become a habit to eat pasta on Friday nights. For as long as I can remember I have made penne with turkey meatballs and a salad on Fridays.

Over the years I have developed a go-to turkey meatball recipe, which I thought I would share. I usually have all the ingredients on hand, and it only takes 10 minutes to put together and 35 minutes to cook. I can either make the pasta while they are cooking, or I make them before and reheat them when I am making the pasta.

meatballs

 

I use chopped onion and carrots, but you can leave one or both of these out if you choose!

photo 2

I usually buy 99% fat free ground turkey, but this week the kind with 7% fat was on sale so we went with that.

ground turkey

Easy Turkey Meatballs

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 35 minutes

Total time: 45 minutes

Yield: 15 meatballs

Ingredients

  • 1.3 lbs Ground Turkey
  • 1 cup Tomato-Basil Pasta Sauce
  • 1 cup Breadcrumbs
  • 1 cup Chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup Chopped carrots
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning

Cooking Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray. (Use foil for easier clean-up.) Mix all ingredients in a large bowl. Use hands to shape into meatballs. Bake 35 minutes. Enjoy with pasta and sauce, and a salad on the side!

ingredients

meatballsmixed

I used oregano and Italian seasoning, and sometimes I add garlic powder. Add whatever spices you like!

spices

I find this to be a great addition to my pasta, and its easy on my stomach the night before a run. They are flavorful but simple. Enjoy!

pasta

2 thoughts on “Easy Turkey Meatballs

Leave a Reply

