Crock Pot Turkey Veggie Lasagna

We use our crock pot almost every Saturday, because we go to church and don’t get home until close to 7, so we are ready to eat! I had found myself making the same things over and over, so this week I decided to change it up and make lasagna.

I like using ground turkey and veggies in my lasagna, and don’t like to overdo it with cheese. Most of the amounts of ingredients were estimated, so use more of what you like and less of what you don’t!

I started by cutting up some veggies: zucchini, onion, and carrots. (I sliced the zucchini and carrots, but chopped the onion- it just depends how big or small you like the veggies to be in your lasagna!)

zucchini

choponion

carrotts

I added them to a pan and sautéed on medium for about 8 minutes.

cookveggies

I then added a whole bag of spinach, and cooked for another minute.

spinach

Meanwhile, I was also browning the ground turkey…

turkey

and boiling the lasagna noodles

noodles

When everything was ready (and noodles had cooled) I started layering the ingredients in my crock pot, beginning with a thin layer of sauce. (I used tomato-basil sauce- if you want to use something plain you can add your own seasoning to it.)

sauce

Over the sauce, I laid a few of the lasagna noodles.

layer

Then I added cheese- I used part skim ricotta, shredded mozzarella, and grated parmesan.

cheese

Over the cheese I put about 1/3rd each of the turkey and veggie mix.

veggies

I added more sauce, and continued the layers in the following order: sauce, noodles, cheese, turkey, veggies.

sauce2

I repeated the layers a total of 3 times, until I had used all the turkey and veggies. I finished it off with a last layer of noodles, some more sauce, and parmesan.

before

I cooked the lasagna on low for 6 hours, but 4 hours is enough time to get it nice and hot.

after

The last picture of the finished product was taken quickly because we were rushing to start eating:) It all kind of fell apart when it was served, but still tasted delicious!

crock pot turkey veggie lasagna

 

If you try this, let me know what you think! Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Crock Pot Turkey Veggie Lasagna

    • I think its ok to not boil the noodles…I used to not even know you were supposed to! The only difference is the noodles will be softer if you boil them first. There are actually some brands that make “No boil” noodles, so you could try to look for those!

  1. oh how i love tina fey!! 🙂 and oh how i hate jury duty…ugh, sorry you got pegged and even more that all the time on your bum caused you running woes. glad you’re feeling better and great job with the running. now i’m hungry though…looks yummy! 😉

Leave a Reply

