Running in the Snow

Last night we got a few inches of snow in Baltimore. Growing up in New York, I am used to getting a decent amount of snow in the winter. Since living in Maryland I have learned that this state is not as accustomed to snow storms, and it seems like the whole state pretty much shuts down for a few inches. Whenever there is even a threat of snow, schools close. (I’m exaggerating, but not really).

photo 4

I  don’t think Maryland is as equipped to handle the snow as some of the northern states, making it harder to get the roads and sidewalks cleared. Although I knew this, I decided to go running this morning. I waited until the sun was up so that I was sure to see any ice in my path. It was about 16 degrees but my phone said it felt like 0, and winds were 23 mph.

1 (4) 

Before I  went for my run I cleaned off my car, just to get an idea of what the conditions were like outside. My street hadn’t been plowed at all, but I figured the main roads would be better.

7

They weren’t. Anywhere that cars had driven was now a sheet of ice. So I headed down to the harbor to see what it was like there.  In the places where there was a few inches of snow, it wasn’t bad and I was able to run. It was the places that were sort of shoveled and had frozen over again that were slippery.

1 (1)

I managed to get in 5 miles, which was what I wanted to do today. In the beginning I had no idea how I would cover 5 miles when I couldn’t find anywhere to run. I was able to find places that were snow-covered and I kind of repeated some areas a few times. 

1 (3)

I am glad I did it but I am kind of hoping I won’t have to do it too much this winter. I really hate the treadmill, but I don’t think its worth breaking an ankle from falling on ice. I also ran MUCH slower than usual, but I guess that’s good since I have my long run tomorrow.

I also added a page about my favorite winter running gear, under the “Running Gear” tab on the top of the page.

Do you brave the snow/ice or head to the treadmill?

Any tips for running in the snow?

18 thoughts on “Running in the Snow

  1. I wish I was brave enough to venture out for a run in the snow today. I’m just a bit south of Baltimore and we got about 5 inches. That, coupled, with the frigid wind chill definitely kept me inside all day. But props to you for getting out there! It looks cold, but also quiet and lovely 🙂

  2. I went out yesterday in about 8″ of snow while it was mid-storm. Gorgeous. 🙂

    For me the rules are mainly awareness and safety:
    – Take off the earbuds. Wear a hat that is based on tech materials, not bulk. Make sure you can hear stuff.
    – Wear proper layers, and be ready for snow/ice/slush to get inside your shoes.
    – Follow road rules – run against traffic.
    – Be visible – reflective gear mid-day might seem silly, but it isn’t.
    – Be EXTRA defensive in your running. A friend found a patch of black ice by watching a car just ahead slide … nasty fall averted!

    Remember that your nose is exposed when you run without face coverage, so in sub-zero wind chills you have limited time (or get a balaclava like I have).

    And just be safe.

    • Awesome tips! Safety is definitely the #1 priority. I can suck it up and deal with cold and wind but I don’t like constantly being worried about falling or cars not seeing me. But you also made a good point about face coverage, I will keep that in mind! Thanks for sharing!

  3. It’s probably a good thing if the state shuts down for just a few inches! People drive like crazies up here in Massachusetts, especially when it’s snowing! I’m too afraid of getting hit by a car to go running in the snow (if it’s a pretty fresh snowfall).
    I tm’ed it today…it was only 3 degrees here in Mass., and I don’t run in temps lower than 36.

    • Yea even though Maryland closes everything, people still go out anyway and drive poorly. The area where I run has a lot of sidewalks, residential areas, and the inner harbor promenade so I’m not running close to cars. The cold is rough to run in but personally I think wind is the worst!

  4. Pingback: Would You Rather? (Running Survey) | Running Out Of Wine
  5. The treadmill just ain’t my thing so I brave the cold weather! W ehaven’t had much snow lately but lots of rain!

  6. I moved from upstate to New Jersey this year and I agree with you, people here do not know how to handle the snow. Everything shut down and 2 days later the snow is still on the roads! Glad you braved the weather and got your run in!

  7. Pingback: Raleigh Marathon Training- Week 2 | Running Out Of Wine

Leave a Reply

