Running, Wine, and Thanksgiving in Cape Coral

I spent the past 6 days in Cape Coral, Florida, at my in-laws new house there. They live in Cleveland, and my sister-in-law and her husband live in Arkansas, so Florida was the perfect place for us to all meet to celebrate Thanksgiving!

photo 5

photo 1

I got in an easy 30 minute run before I left on Monday. I thought it was going to feel alot colder than it did, but I was still glad that I was only running for 30 minutes. I also had to walk to the light rail at 6am, which is only a 10 minute walk, but I was only wearing a fleece because I didn’t want to bring my heavy coat to Florida. I was talking to some people on the light rail who were from Florida and visiting Baltimore, and they were asking if it is usual to have 20 degree temps in November. Not as far as I know! I have lived here for about 12 years and usually it doesn’t get this cold until January.

photo 4

Luckily the weather is Florida was much warmer. However, on the first day I ran it was really humid! It was about to rain (started right as I was finishing) and I was thinking to myself that I wasn’t sure which is worse…running in really cold weather to really humid weather.

photo 3

photo 2 Backing up to Monday, I got a green smoothie from Jamba Juice at the airport. I knew the week would not be filled with healthy foods, so I figured I would at least start out with some fruits and veggies.

photo 3 As expected, there was a lot of alcohol. We had about 3 hours to kill at the airport waiting for Rob’s parents, so we got some lunch and beers.

photo 4

During the rest of the trip I stuck with white wine as my drink of choice (except for a random Miller Lite at dinner when I was having a burger…I feel like you kind of need to have beer with a burger, and they didn’t have Blue Moon which was what I was in the mood for). I prefer to drink white wine when its warm out, so I shared some bottles of Sauvignon Blanc with Shannon (sister-in-law).

photo 5

I did plenty of relaxing throughout the week, but also ran every day. Since I was recovering from my half-marathon, all of my runs were at an easy pace. My longest run was 9 miles on Thanksgiving, and the rest were 4-7 miles.

photo 1

 photo 3

photo 2

photo 1

It was great to get away, but it always feels good to come back home. We spent today decorating for Christmas, and now we are enjoying some RED wine since it is cold here!

photo (7)

I can’t believe there are only 3 work weeks until Christmas! It makes it a little easier to go back tomorrow knowing that another break is approaching, but I also feel like I have so much do to before the holidays! I have no idea what to get for anyone for Christmas.

Here are some other things going on in the blog-world:

Run Eat Repeat posted a 25 days of fitness challenge: 25 days of fitness 

A Healthy Mrs is hosting a Blogger Holiday Gift Exchange. The last day to sign up was yesterday (I found out about it just in time!) but I thought as a new blogger this would be a good way to meet some new people!

Carrots N Cake posted about doing “24 days of Togetherness” 24 Days of Togetherness

 

Are you participating in any of the above activities?

Any creative ideas of what to get other people for Christmas?!

4 thoughts on “Running, Wine, and Thanksgiving in Cape Coral

Leave a Reply

