Annapolis Running Classic Training

I guess I haven’t  written much about my training since the Baltimore Marathon. I took 4 full days off from running after the race, but I felt pretty much back to normal after 2 days. I did easy runs of 3-4 miles on Thursday and Friday, and then 10 easy miles on the day I broke my finger.

11.3.13

The following week I started picking up my training again and got back to my regular schedule.

Week of 10/20-10/26:

Sunday: rest

Monday: 5 miles, easy (9:17 pace), Runner’s Core Level 1 Stage 1 (I had done stages 1 and 2 a few times the previous week as well)

Tuesday: 7 miles with 3 mins on/2 mins off during middle portion of run (8:50 pace), hip stregth

Wednesday: 6.1 miles easy (9:30 pace), Runner’s Core Level 1 Stage 3

Thursday: rest, Runner’s Core Level 1 Stage 3

Friday: 5.2 miles  (8:37 pace), hip strength

Saturday: 11 miles with 5 mins hard, 2 mins easy for miles 4-9 (8:40 pace)

Total Miles: 34.2

I felt good about this week, and decided to continue to increase my mileage and keep adding in a few tougher workout this past week.

Week of 10/27-11/2:

Sunday: Reflextion Yoga, Runner’s Core Level 2 Stage 1

Monday: 7.25 miles (10×400) (8:40 pace), Runner’s Core Level 2 Stage 1

Tuesday: 9 miles easy (9:32 pace), ab work

Wednesday: 8 miles w/ 3 at tempo pace (8:02, 8:03, 8:01) (8:40 pace), Runner’s Core Level 2 Stage 1

Thursday: Reflexion Yoga

Friday: 6.1 miles with 3×10 minutes at HMP (8:29 pace) , Runner’s Core Level 2 Stage 1

Saturday: 13.1 miles…was planning to try to do a workout but my legs were just not feeling it. Settled for negative splits (9:03 pace)

Total Miles: 43.45

This was one of my highest weekly mileages of 2013. That might explain why my legs were dead by Saturday, but I was still happy with how the week turned out.

I have no idea what I will try to run in the Annapolis Half. My PR in the half marathon is a 1:44:40 and about an 8 min/mile pace. I’m just not sure if I am able to hold that pace for 13.1 miles.

I want to end the 2013 running season with a great race, and part of that is not feeling disappointed about not meeting a goal. I don’t think its fair to myself to expect a PR after only training for a few weeks for the half marathon. I trained and tried to PR in May, but the course and weather did not cooperate that day. Throughout all of 2013, I had 2 PRs: the 5k and 10k. They were 6 days apart from each other.

red shoe shuffle

Lately during races I have struggled more with the mental part of running that the physical part.

There are lots of things to work on in 2014. But for this last race, I want to overcome my mental weaknesses and allow my body to run to its fullest potential, whatever that might be on November 23rd.

How do you push through when your mind is telling you to quit?

Any last goals you are trying to achieve before 2013 comes to an end?

2 thoughts on “Annapolis Running Classic Training

  1. I am glad you had a great week in training, aside from hurting your finger! I definitely agree that a lot of the struggle is mental. On especially long runs, I find running with other people helps distract me from those kinds of thoughts!

  2. Pingback: Annapolis Training: 2 Weeks to go | RUNNING OUT OF WINE

Leave a Reply

